Your “Desktop” is derived from the contents of two folders.  In Windows XP, those are C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop and C:\Documents and Settings\<username\Desktop — where <username> is the name of the currently logged in user.

Many programs put their startup shortcut in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop.  This way, the shortcut is visible to any user, whenever that user logs in.  However, if the shortcut is deleted by any user, it is deleted for all users.

To solve your problem, log in with your “computer administrator” account, open Windows Explorer, and navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop.  Find the shortcut(s) at issue and MOVE them to C:\Documents and Settings\<sonsusername\Desktop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *